Fabulous Fitness Friday Edition 1 – Measurable Goals

Its Friday and its our first Fabulous Fitness Friday post!!! TOOT TOOT!!

Just in case you all don’t know I was a Fitness Instructor in my former life or shall I say pre-Karsyn (1 year older).  Now I am a certified personal trainer as well as a fabulous stylist, and mother among other things! And part of being a Fabulous You includes taking care of the mind and body through health and fitness.

In keeping with the theme of the New Year, let’s talk about the importance of setting measurable fitness goals.  Just about every year, we all take the pledge to lose weight, eat healthy, exercise more; you name it and it has been said! However, there are some who remain motivated and others fall off the wagon after 2 weeks.  I believe we all start out with good intentions but where we fail is no accountability.  The key is to write down your goals.    When I meet with a client I always ask what do you want to accomplish (i.e. lose 10 lbs, decrease percentage of body fat).   It is important to be realistic, you don’t want to set yourself up for failure by setting goals that are just not reachable.  It is impossible and unhealthy to lose 10 lbs in a week, it is recommended that individuals lose 1-2 lbs a week.  Once you write your goals start keeping a food diary.  Studies show that individuals who keep a food diary tend to lose more weight and keep it off longer than those who don’t.  A great tool I recommend is www.myfitnesspal.com.   

I signed up and already I was over my recommended calorie intake for the day.  I guess the Chipolte tipped me over the scale at 645 calories.  So in order to make up for it, I came home and worked out extra hard this evening.  See we all fall off the wagon. However, I don’t beat myself up, I just get back on and keep pressing toward my goals.  Besides now I have all of you to hold me accountable.         

I Dani C. have taken the pledge (or shall I say set a goal) for 2011 to live a healthier lifestyle and workout 4-6 days a week.  Have you pledged your fitness goals for the new year?  Did you write them down?  We all want to look and feel better…..Right?  You will thank yourself in the end.

This is the face of a person working hard!

 Fabulously Yours,

Dani C.

One thought on “Fabulous Fitness Friday Edition 1 – Measurable Goals

Leave a Reply

