Love the Skin Your In

True beauty starts with a great foundation–your skin!! I don’t know about you but the weather is drying my skin out! I mean clearly it’s cold out and that means adding extra protection to your skin.  And for some of us it means having to exfoliate a little more often!

I have been on the prowl for a new skin care line that is budget friendly (something new I am trying out).  A friend of mine that happens to be an esthetician recommended that I try Cetaphil.  I have been using the cleanser daily and it doesn’t leave my skin feeling tight or dry after washing. And since the air is so cold I don’t need a cleanser that strips the natural oils from my skin. After cleansing I recommend a great toner, I use Aveda’s Botanical Kinetics toner. And to top it all off I use Cetaphil Daily Facial Moisturizer with SPF15. I know some may not see the use of a SPF in the winter but the sun still rises during the winter days. At night I use pure shea butter that I purchased from my local flea market because it provides that extra moisture my skin needs.  And if you don’t have any shea butter then you can use a heavy cream instead like Eucerin cream.

Also, in certain areas of my skin I have been very dry so I bought St. Ives Apricot Scrub. I only apply it to those extra ruff areas like in my t-zones (forehead, chin and cheek area) and I rub very gently. This can be a little harsh on the skin if you use it every day, so I  recommend using it 1-2 times a week and that’s it.

So as I mentioned true beauty starts with a great foundation, don’t forget to hydrate your body daily with water, your skin will thank you later!

This is my personal skin care regimen, by no  means am I saying this is for everyone to use. We all have different skin types with different needs. But if you have any questions in regards to skin care please email me at fabulousyourit@gmail.com or just simply leave us a comment!

Also, for all you fabulous gals and gents that are snowed in-be careful!

Fabulously Yours,

K.Marie

2 thoughts on “Love the Skin Your In

  1. Karen, I’m loving this post. Can I find Cetaphil at CVS, and can all types of skin use it? Also, I use St. Ive’s apricot scrub everyday – am I damaging my skin?

    • Cetaphil can be found at any major drugstore. Target. Walmart, etc. It is a very mild cleanser that can be used on all skin types. I (Dani C.) swear by the product right now because everyone in my house uses it including the baby. It has cleared up my daughters ezxcema and it has prevented my face from being extremely dry this winter.

      I also use the St Ives Apricot scrub and I used to cleanse with it daily however I have cut down to 2-3 times a week because a scrub can be too harsh for daily use. A scrub is just meant to exfoliate which you don’t need to do daily however K. Marie can expand on this a lot better. I can only speak from personal experience, they are both great products for all skin types!!

Leave a Reply

