Fabulous Fitness Friday – Stretching

I was speaking with my mom yesterday and she happened to bring up the many adventures of her and my sister at the gym.  I must say they are quite hilarious in their quest to lose weight but I am proud of them for taking the initiative to live a healthy lifestyle.  Anyway, she proceeded to tell me they do not warmup before and stretch after a workout.  I had to laugh because I can tell they are novice in the gym (don’t think I am a bad person…I am laughing with them and not at them).  

I like to warmup and stretch for 5 minutes before a workout to help loosen up th muscles and get the blood flowing.  And to end a workout I always stretch again to ensure my muscles don’t get tight and to increase flexibility.  Individuals believe stretching is done to avoid injury, however research has soon this is not the case.  Stretching is a way to keep the body flexible; flexible muscles allow your joints to move through a full range of motion. When you stretch after 4 workout,  hold each stretch for 15 – 30 seconds.  Try to target all the muscles you used, paying close attention to any tight areas.  I would also suggest Yoga it is a great way to stretch while working on reducing stress.  

If you have any fitness questions, please leave a comment, I would be more than happy to answer any questions you may have.  I love to exercise (somewhat…HA!) and I really want to motivate individuals to meet their fitness goals as well. 

I am looking for a new challenge in my workout routine, so I plan to start a P90x/Insanity Hybrid workout — this is going to be interesting.  I will let you all know how the first week goes in next Friday’s post.  Have a GREAT weekend! 

Fabulously Yours,

Dani C.

Leave a Reply

