Fabulous Fitness Friday – Motivational Fee

HAPPY FRIDAY EVERYONE!!  I don’t know about you all but this week has really went by so slow, I thought the weekend would never get here.  I came across an interesting article on a gym that charges a fine if you miss a workout, which is known as a “motivational fee”.  So let me get this straight I am charged a monthly membership and if I don’t come at least one day a week I am charged a fine.  I don’t know about you all but that does not sound appealing to me for many reasons to include 1) I am too cheap to pay a monthly membership; 2) missing one week should not be a penalty, we all fall off the wagon at times; 3) and did I say I am TOO CHEAP.  Don’t get me wrong I LOVE to exercise however I don’t feel the need to frequent the gym often to get a great workout when I can do the same thing in my home, however I consider myself to be more disciplined.  Others may need that extra incentive just to get into a workout routine.  

 So tell me ladies do you see the fine as a motivator or a deterrent in joining the gym?  Do you think if there were penalties charged would it force you to frequent the gym more often?

Fabulously Yours,

Dani C.

4 thoughts on “Fabulous Fitness Friday – Motivational Fee

  1. I’m loving the motivational fee! I think it would make someone go to the gym just to not have to pay that penalty fee. But like you I am cheap and I refuse to ever join a gym again. I feel like my intentions are there, but once I sign that contract I don’t ever return to that gym. True story, happened when I had joined Bally’s 10 years ago and to be release from your contract you either have to be terminally ill, live in the desert, or be dead! Bahhaa.

    Anyways, I think I’m going to apply this “motivation fee” at home. Each time I want to get up and run or work out with Billy Blanks and I don’t, I am going to put $1 into a “piggy bank”.

    I love it!!

    • OMG Leida, that is such a great idea!! I may have to implement that at home myself, there are days and weeks for that matter where I get lazy.

      Your story with the gym membership is like so many others and my top reason for not joining.

      • Let me (K.Marie) get in on the morning discussion! I need that darn fee!! But like you Leida I remember our Bally days and that membership is too pricey but I do need that motivational fee of $1 in my life-that way I have a $1 for everytime the ice cream truck comes around!! Baaaaaaaaaahahahh! Sike! Great info Dani C.!

  2. Fines are deterrents. If my gym fined me, I would have given up long ago. I do have to push myself to go and need to push harder but once I get there I do feel better. I don’t have all those machines at home which I do enjoy whenever I frequent the Fitness First in Olney.

Leave a Reply

