Celibacy is the new IT!

Last night I had a very interesting conversation with a friend of mine. The topic basically was celibacy. Being celabent and abstaining from sex until marriage. Which some might say is impossible! At this point in my life I know its possible because I am doing it and so is she.

This decision has always been a mind issue but it was never apart of my heart. Sometimes we want things for our lives but never achieve them because it remains a thought of the mind and never a true issue of the heart. For me it was getting to a point in my life where I truly wanted to honor God with my ENTIRE self!

I had finally ended a relationship that just wasn’t working out and I wanted to be sure I started the next relationship with someone who truly believed how I did because I knew “Two people couldn’t walk together unless they agreed” (scripture).  So I needed someone who was on my same path of honoring God with everything. I didn’t want to take any more chances with someone who didn’t see eye to eye with me, there was no more compromise in me!

I decided to share this with you all in hopes that you will share this with your circle of friends and family. I know growing up there was always talk of this topic but there wasnt anyone that shared their life experiences openly. I know now that the key to achieving this goal of no sex before marriage is that  you must have someone who agrees with you and that’s willing to stand apart from the crowd.

Earlier this week I was thrilled to read that Meagan Goode decided to make some major changes in her life  and one of them was to practice celibacy.

Quotes from Meagan Good on celibacy:

I also said that, from here on out I am going to be completely celibate and people laughed at me. They said, “yeah right, she can’t do that … who is she trying to fool?” So it was hurtful that so many people mocked me, based on opinions of people that have never met me a day in their life because they didn’t believe that’s who I really was.

I was crying about so much at the time that God told me exactly what it was going to be and he told me that the next relationship that I got into was going to be “the” relationship. God told me specifically what the criteria was with the man I was going to marry and he told me to not settle. So I would meet guys who are Christians or loved the Lord, but they weren’t trying with all their heart to walk with him. And I wouldn’t feel in myself that that was the guy, so even if I liked him or was attracted to him I would say, OK I’m not going to settle.”

“Then shortly after that I became celibate. I said, ‘Alright Lord, let’s see what you have for me.

Are you interested in seeing what God has for you? What areas of your life need some attention from God? If your doing the same thing over and over again, I think it’s time to surrender your heart and let your mind follow!

I know this was kind of long, but I think it’s a topic worth sharing!
Have a great weekend peeps,
Ms. Karen Minor

10 thoughts on “Celibacy is the new IT!

  1. That was my life until I married in 1975 and we’ve just celebrated our 37th Anniversary. No, it is not all peaches and cream but at least we know The Father God put us together and He keeps our family day after day in His will. I am so happy that you have this Awesome life to look forward to and that you have made such a plan for yourself to do His will. You are so blessed. You will continue to be a blessing. I am so happy for you. Love, AK

  2. AMEN!!!! I agree I am so happy to be dating someone with the same values as me. We both agreed on NO SEX before marriage, It is truly a Blessing not have that stress on my shoulders. I am grateful and happy that you and your sweetie are in agreement. Or should I say sweety. LOL!!!!

    Sister Kathy AMEN to the 37 years I look forward to saying that one day.

  3. I think that this is a great topic. More young ladies need to understand that the “cool thang” is NO SEX before marriage, not to have sex with as many men as you can before marriage. You have nothing to special to share with your husband except for you are married. Great topic!

    • Thanks Sheila! This is a crazy world that we live in, I hope that guys and girls get the fact that celibacy is where its at!

  4. Oh My GOD Karen this is the best topic, I agree totally and I’m happy that I have a daughter that knows the heart of GOD and wants what GOD wants for her life, I’m doing the same thing after being married before I am not going to settle just because I want a man in my life, I have standards too and they are to please GOD with my whole life. You are truly a blessing. When GOD brings me that special man he will be a man of GOD. AMEN,

      • Thanks for loving me Mommy fusser, lol my children are my heart we have been through a lot BUT by the GRACE OF GOD we are still here.

Leave a Reply

