2013 A GOLDEN YEAR!

Gold glitter shoe2013

If you have followed my blog, you have heard me say time and time again how important it is to follow your dreams and do what you love everyday! Although, I wasn’t doing what I loved everyday, I was in pursuit of it…trying to figure out which route to take and how to position myself for it.

Well people I can finally say, everyday when I wake up and venture out to work, I go to a place that is 100% in the industry that I love! I no longer work for a non-profit but I am officially staffed over at Red Door Spa!

RED DOOR SPA2013

Now the journey from where I was to where I am now, took time and courage and trust me I have a long ways to go…the finish line is no where in sight! There are so many changes going on in my life and with those changes of course I started to think about my career path and how I was tired of doing what I loved some of the time and doing what I was starting to hate the majority of the time.

So  I started talking to God about it EVERYDAY! I would walk from the metro to work and I would say things like ” I wont be taking this walk for much longer” and when I sat down at my desk I would say “Soon I wont be sitting here”. I started to pump myself up for change.

Every step counts2

And one day God gave me the answer, and it was so simple, “Sometimes you have to take a step back in order to move forward” That one line set me on a course! I new that it was okay to take a temporary pay cut for what I ultimately wanted because it would only be temporary…because ultimately God supplies my needs and He would open up doors and put me in the right position.

After searching online for months I found a position I was interested in! And I applied immediately  I sent a cover letter that was straight from my heart. I left out the generic cookie cutter cover letter and spoke freely and truthfully! I told her ” The older you get the more you want to do what you love.” How truthful is this. Some of us ignore this urge and stay complacent and we never take a chance at something that is outside of our comfort zone.

Rainbow

I never want to live in the “I wish I would have” world. And you shouldn’t either. The steps I took to finding a new position in 2013 was very easy. I asked God for help and I followed what I was passionate about. I didn’t allow money to be my focus, now don’t get me wrong, wisdom played a role in this as well, I didn’t step all the way back down the street in order to move forward, I took a small step back…the right distance for me personally!

2013 MAKE IT COUNT

2013 is all about finding your passion and acting on it. It takes time and effort and of course consistency. I know this is a long post but I just want to encourage you to make this year, your best year ever! Change starts with just one simple step, don’t be afraid to go after whatever it is you desire.

As I journey into a career path that has always been a BIG passion of mine, I welcome you to make your dreams count! God didn’t give them to you for nothing, there is purpose behind them!

Welcome back to our daily read!

Fabulously Yours,

Ms. Karen Minor

4 thoughts on “2013 A GOLDEN YEAR!

Leave a Reply

