The Closet Autobiography Part 1

 Closet pic 2013333

“Clothes as text, clothes as narration, clothes as a story. Clothes as the story of our lives. And if you were to gather all the clothes you have ever owned in all your life, each baby shoe and winter coat and wedding dress, you would have your autobiography.”                   –Linda Grant, The Thoughtful Dresser

The Closet Autobiography: The Introduction

Let me just tell you, my closet is a hot mess, it’s been this way for over 6 months.  I have not been able to get it together. I am so ashamed of it. And now that I have a husband his things have added to my mess. I generally keep my closet in some type of order, shirts, pants, dresses, jackets with everything color coordinated; but as of lately my idea of organizing my clothes is piling them up outside my closet in a chair.   And every time I attempt to bring order, I get so annoyed and just say “forget it”. I even researched a couple of closet organizers but of course I quickly brought my mind in.

Sometimes you have to add a little fun to your “To do list”. There is no way I am going to get my closet in tip-top shape unless I make it a project! So here you have it the birth of “My Closet Autobiography”.  I am going to lay it all out right here right now, like to hear it here it goes!

My Closet Autobiography is a series on creating a closet that represents you, past and present! It’s the one place that should harbor the most intimate details of who you are. The reasons you chose the shoes sitting on the floor, why you never wear that dress that’s been hanging there forever, or why you always go to those same pair of jeans, could it be they snug your booty in all the right places! Whatever the reasons are behind your wardrobe choices, those items may not be the ultimate investment but they represent you as an individual.

Carrie-THE PURGEThe Closet Autobiography Part OneTHE PURGE

Creating your closet autobiography is about letting go of the past to make room for the present. You have to purge so you can embrace those things that make you happy. And after all of that you can create a positive atmosphere that will help you thrive with creativity, love and peace. All of this helps you embark on a new day! When your stuff is in order you can walk out the door every morning more confident because your mind is clear and your heart is content.

The Embrace2013

The Closet Autobiography Part Two: EMBRACE                                                        Embrace what makes you happy. Pull out all the things that make you feel a certain kind of way in the front of your closet. If it holds a great memory put it in the front, so you can see it. If you wore a certain item on one of the biggest days of your life, make it center stage! Even those famous go to items, put them in a place where your able to see them right away. Not only does this help you dress in the morning it will give you a boost of confidence.  

Carrie-The Atmosphere2013

The Closet Autobiography Part Three: ATMOSPHERE                                                             Creating a positive atmosphere- Decorate your space, add something other than clothes that represents you as an individual. This could be a vision board that holds all the looks you want to try, a big initial of your name, a pair of vintage shoes on a shelf, your favorite handbag. Add something creative.  This is your space, make it as fun as you want. Set the tone for the place where you create the look you want to portray that day!

carrie-bradshaw Lets go2013

Well folks, next Wednesday I will be sharing The Closet Autobiography Part One: PURGE.  I have a whole lot of purging that needs to take place! Time to make a few donations or attend a few swaps!

Until then I will be over at Pinterest pinning a few ideas on organizing my closet space. Follow my board titled Closet Autobiography!

P.S. I just realized I am sharing a closet with my husband so I have to figure out how to make it a his and her closet! Oh boy!

Main Signature

 

                                                                                                            

Leave a Reply

